Answers to frequently asked home care questions are provided below. Contact us today with any additional questions about our home care services in Huntington Beach and the surrounding areas.
Does Medicare pay for a caregiver or home health aide?
Medicare will only pay for home health aides if a patient is receiving skilled nursing services (physical therapy, occupational therapy, wound care, home health services). Usually, Medicare will not pay for a home health aide as an “a la carte” or “standalone”.
What are your rates for services?
Please call 949-859-4772 for a custom quote.
Will medical insurance pay for a home care aide?
Depending on the client policy, there may be long-term care benefits for non-medical services. In most cases, medical insurance will not pay for non-medical care such as household tasks, bathing, errands, feeding or other life assistance tasks.
How do we pay for services?
We invoice weekly and accept the following forms of payments:
- Long-Term Care Insurance
- Credit Cards: VISA, American Express, Mastercard, and Discover
- Electronic ACH
- Electronic payments through our secure web portal
Do you require a deposit?
We do not require a deposit as long a credit card is provided up front to start services.
How fast can we get care services?
Often, we can have a caregiver to your door in as little as 4 -24 hours.
What areas do you service?
We service Orange County and in the process of expanding to Los Angeles County in the near future.
Are the caregivers insured?
We carry workers compensation, professional, liability in addition to bond insurance.
What do your service rates include?
Our services include driving to errands, light household tasks, meal preparation, laundry, medication reminders, companionship, and much more. Click here to see what else we can help with.
Do you offer respite care?
Yes, we offer caregivers for respite, sitting services, and those receiving care from hospice.
Do you charge for an assessment?
Our assessments and nurse supervisory visits are always free.
Do you have a minimum service requirement?
Our minimum service requirement varies based upon where a senior lives. Contact us for details.
Do you have a contract or cancellation policy?
We only require a 24 hour notification to cancel services. We do have a standard service agreement that clients sign giving us permission to provide care and to pay for services received.
Can I meet my caregiver(s) before they start?
Yes! We want you to be comfortable and 100% satisfied with your caregiver. Call us and we will arrange for the introduction.
Do I pay the caregivers directly?
No, all payments are made to CareWorks Health Services.
Are you licensed, insured, and bonded?
Yes! California recently required that ALL home care organizations be licensed, bonded and insured. To learn more about California Homecare Consumer Services Protection Act AB1217 click here.
Do you background check your employees?
YES! All caregivers and office staff are fingerprinted by both the FBI and CA. Dept of Justice. While standard employment background checks go back 7 years, our background search goes beyond that.
Can we set up alternative payment arrangements?
We offer many different alternative arrangements since everyone’s situation is unique. Please call us so we can custom tailor a payment arrangement for you.
How closely do you monitor your caregivers?
Our nurses do unannounced supervisory visits every 30-60 days to ensure the caregivers are doing their jobs and well-being of the clients. If you need additional supervisory visits, we charge a small fee of $50 for additional visits.
Are all of your caregivers nurses?
Our caregivers and home care aides are trained and certified to provide care. Many do have a background in nursing.
Do you charge for mileage when a caregiver drives my loved one?
We only bill for mileage when caregivers drive your loved one in the caregiver vehicle. Our rates per mile are $0.70/mi.
Do you offer 24/7 care?
Can you administer medications?
We have nurses who can administer medication through our home health company. Under CA law, home care agencies are not allowed to inject or insert any medications in the mouth (we can help by placing medication in a client’s hand and assisting it to their mouth).
Can your home care aides drive?
YES, ALL our caregivers drive.
Do you accept Long-Term Care Insurance?
YES! We will accept, bill, and collect. Our experienced staff has worked with most long-term care insurance companies and are familiar with their billing practices. For your convenience, we also accept Assignment of Benefits and collect directly from the insurer.
Are caregivers vaccinated for COVID-19?
We currently offer the option to request a COVID-19 vaccinated caregiver at a premium rate.